1. Travel

Australian Open Year by Year

The March of Champions


It's interesting to see that American Andre Agassi, Australian Open men's singles champion in 1995, was again the title holder in 2000, 2001 and 2003, to be supplanted by Swiss Roger Federer as multi-Australian Open winner in the decade of the 2000s with tennis court triumphs in 2004, 2006, 2007 and 2010.

The dominant women's singles champion in the 2000s has been American Serena Williams with title wins in 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009 and 2010.

Australian Open 2013

The Australian Open is scheduled to be held this year from January 14 to 27 in Melbourne.

Unable to make it this year is last year's runner-up Rafael Nadal so we will miss a return match between Nadal and current champion Novak Djokovic.

Australian Open 2011

Novak Djokovic, copyright Clive Brunskill / Getty Images
Novak Djokovic © Clive Brunskill / Getty Images

Spain's Rafael Nadal, holder of the Roland Garros, Wimbledon and US Open men's singles titles at the time, was hoping at the Australian Open to hold all four Grand Slam titles at the one time. This did not happen, as he was reported to have been playing with a hamstring injury at the quarterfinals and lost in straight sets to compatriot David Ferrer. Andy Murray (UK) defeated Ferrer in the semifinal and was himself beaten by Novak Djokovic (Serbia) in the championship final.

Five-time Australian Open champion Serena Williams did not compete in the 2011 tournament which saw Kim Clijsters (Belgium) defeating China's Na Li in the final.

Australian Open 2010

Roger Federer, copyright Quinn Rooney / Getty Images
Roger Federer © Quinn Rooney / Getty Images

Men's tennis world No 1 Roger Federer won the men's singles final at the Australian Open to regain the crown he lost to Rafael Nadal in 2009. Federer, who had won the Australian Open men's singles title in 2004, 2006 and 2007, defeated Andy Murray (United Kingdom) in three hard-fought sets.

Australian Open defending champion Serena Williams (USA) retained her title by defeating Justine Henin (Belgium) in three sets.

Australian Open 2009

Rafael Nadal, copyright Quinn Rooney / Getty Images
Rafael Nadal © Quinn Rooney / Getty Images

At the 2009 Australian Open, Rafael Nadal (Spain) won the men's singles title, defeating Roger Federer (Switzerland), and Serena Williams (US) took out the women's singles title, defeating Dinara Safin (Russia). 2008 women's singles champion Maria Sharapova (Russia) did not compete in the 2009 tournament.

Tennis fans hoping for a Williams-Williams final were disappointed when Venus Williams lost her second-round match.

Australian Open 2008

Maria Sharapova, copyright Quinn Rooney / Getty Images
Maria Sharapova © Quinn Rooney / Getty Images

The 2008 Australian Open saw 2007 women's singles runner-up Maria Sharapova (Russia) taking the title by defeating Ana Ivanovic (Serbia) in the final. Novak Djokovic (Serbia) triumphed over Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (France) in the men's singles final.

Top seeds in the 2008 tournament were Roger Federer (Switzerland) who lost in the semifinals and Justine Henin (Belgium) who lost in the quarterfinals.

Australian Open 2007

Serena Williams, copyright Paul Kane / Getty Images
Serena Williams © Paul Kane / Getty Images

American Serena Williams, who missed Roland Garros and Wimbledon in 2006 due to recurring injury, was the comeback queen of the 2007 Australian Open defeating Russian Maria Sharapova in the final. 2006 finalist Justine Henin-Harden (Belgium) did not compete in the 2007 Australian Open.

The men's singles title was won by Roger Federer (Switzerland) who defeated Fernando Gonzalez (Chile), gaining the Swiss player his third Australian Open title.

Australian Open 2006

2004 was the first time Roger Federer (Switzerland) won the Australian Open men's singles title. In 2005 he lost the title by being eliminated in the semifinals by Marat Safin (Russia). Safin did not compete in the 2006 tournament, where Federer regained his title by defeating Marcos Baghdatis (Cyprus).

The women's singles title went to Amelie Mauresmo (France) who defeated Justine Henin-Hardenne (Belgium) who retired in the second set.

Australian Open Winners Since 1905

The Australian Open had its beginnings in 1905 with the holding of the Australasian Men's Championships under the auspices of the Lawn Tennis Association of Australiasia. The men's matches were held in various Australian cities and in New Zealand.

The tournament's name became the Australian Championships in 1927 and the Australian Open in 1969.

women's tennis became part of the tournament in 1922.

In 1986, the game's governing body was renamed Tennis Australia.

1987 saw the last staging of the Australian Open on grass.

There were years when the Australian Open was not held due to war or other reasons.

  1. About.com
  2. Travel
  3. Australia Travel
  4. Adventure and Sports
  5. Tennis
  6. Australian Open Year by Year - The March of Champions

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.