1. Travel

2007 Rugby World Cup

How Australia and New Zealand Fared


  • Australia and New Zealand have been eliminated in the quarter-finals of the 2007 Rugby World Cup. Australia lost 10-12 to England on October 6, local time, in Marseille. In Cardiff, Wales, New Zealand lost 18-20 to France after leading 13-3 at half time.

  • South Africa won the 2007 Rugby World Cup, beating defending champion England, 15-6, in the final on October 20, local time, at Saint Denis in France.

The 2007 Rugby World Cup opened in France in September and continued until the final on October 21 local time. Except for three pool matches in Scotland, Ireland and Wales, and a quarter-final also in Wales, all 2007 Rugby World Cup matches were played in France in Paris, St Denis, Marseille, Lens, St Etienne, Bordeaux, Lyon, Montpellier, Nantes, Toulouse.


Twenty teams from 20 countries compete in Rugby World Cup 2007.

The teams were divided into four pools comprising five teams each. The winners and runers-up in each pool went into quarter-final matches, with quarter-final winners going into the semi-finals, and semi-final winners going into the final.

Australia was in Pool B with Canada, Fiji, Japan and Wales.

New Zealand was in Pool C with Italy, Portugal, Romania and Scotland.

First round

The first games of the 2007 Rugby World Cup in which Australia and New Zealand played were held in France on September 8 local time. Australia defeated Japan, 91-3, in Lyon, and New Zealand defeated Italy, 76-14, in Marseille.

Second round

On September 15 local time, in their second pool matches, Australia defeated Wales, 32-20, in Cardiff, and New Zealand defeated Portugal, 108-13, in Lyon.

Third round

Australia's third round match was held on September 23 local time in France at Montpellier. Australia won against Fiji, 55-12.

New Zealand's third round match was held on September 23 local time in Dublin, Scotland. New Zealand won against Scotland, 40-0.

Fourth round

New Zealand made a clean sweep of its Pool C matches by winning over Romania, 85-8, on September 29 local time, in Toulouse, and proceeded to the quarter-finals on October 6 in Cardiff, Wales.

Australia won all four Pool B matches, defeating Canada, 37-6, on September 29 local time, in Bordeaux. Australia played England in the quarter-final on October 6 in Marseille.


On October 6 local time, Australia met its Rugby World Cup Waterloo in Marseille, losing 10-12 to England, with England's fly half star Jon Wilkinson producing all of England's 12 points.

For the Australians, it was a case of deja vu with Wilkinson producing a stunning field goal in extra-time to hand England the 2003 World Cup.

In the second quarter-final played in Cardiff, Wales, New Zealand was leading France, 13-3, at half time. France leveled the score at 13-13 in the 55th minute of the match, then went on to win 20-18 in a closely-fought finish.

Rugby World Cup 2011

The 2011 Rugby World Cup will be held in New Zealand.

  1. About.com
  2. Travel
  3. Australia Travel
  4. Events and Festivals
  5. 2007 Rugby World Cup - Australia and New Zealand Eliminated in Quarter-Finals - Match Results

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.