1. Travel
Send to a Friend via Email

Melbourne Cup Winners and Placegetters Since 2000

Who Will Win This Year?


The Melbourne Cup, Australia's premier horse racing event, is among the world's top horse races which include the Kentudy Derby in Louisville, Kentucy, and the Preakness Stakes in Baltimore, Maryland; the Dubai World Cup in Dubai; and the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe in Paris.

The Melbourne Cup has been run since 1861, more than a century and a half ago.

Winner of the first Melbourne Cup was New South Wales horse Archer which had to walk 800 kilometres from Nowra on the NSW South Coast all the way to Melbourne in order to compete for a £170 cash prize and a gold watch.

Since 2000 and the start of the 21st century, the following have been the Melbourne Cup winners and placegetters:

2000 - Brew, Yippyio, Second Coming
2001 - Ethereal, Give the Slip, Persian Punch
2002 - Media Puzzle, Mr Prudent, Beekeeper
2003 - Makybe Diva, She's Archie, Jardines Lookout
2004 - Makybe Diva, Vinnie Roe, Zazzman
2005 - Makybe Diva, On a Jeune, Xcellent
2006 - Delta Blues, Pop Rock, Maybe Better
2007 - Efficient, Purple Moon, Mahler
2008 - Viewed, Bauer, C'est la Guerre
2009 - Shocking, Crime Scene, Mourilyan
2010 - Americain, Maluckyday, So You Think
2011 - Dunaden, Red Cadeaux, Lucas Cranach
2012 - Green Moon, Fiorente, Jakkalberry

  1. About.com
  2. Travel
  3. Australia Travel
  4. Adventure and Sports
  5. Horse Racing
  6. Melbourne Cup Winners and Placegetters Since 2000

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.